Defining Documentary

What is documentary photography?

It is commonly understood as providing factual evidence and recording  the truth , the aim of any documentary photographer is to inform , to show something. Hence as a genre the subject matter seems almost limitless and this is what makes it such an exiting subject to study.

However I am rather apprehensive about the coursework , I much prefer to work with people I know and do not enjoy taking surreptitious photographs of strangers in the street. I hope I can combine my love of portraiture with the assignments.

My research for the first project is to look at some contemporary practitioners of documentary photography to try and gain an idea of the diversity within the genre .

Leave a Reply

