Assignment 3 : Reflection

Demonstration of technical and visual skills

I have used a variety of focal lengths and different viewpoints using thee different lens’s. A 17-40mm , a 24-105mm and a 50mm prime lens. Creating a cohesive narrative was quite a challenge , I have chosen old photographs that , to me , represent certain times in my mum’s life and as such form a story of loss ,time and memory from girlhood to now but not in a linear way. I tried not to direct my mum too much , simply told her where to stand or sit and took it from there. As I am trying to compile a larger body of work I chose to once again use my black backdrop to maintain visual consistency throughout , even though this set of images are in colour not black and white.

Quality of outcome

I am pleased with my prints and have once again used A4 Permajet fibre Base Royal 325. I did have some problems with my printer chewing the paper but hopefully have resolved this now. I needed to spend quite some time creating the diptych’s but am reasonably happy with how individually and as a set they convey my chosen narrative . I have made a couple of photo books before for family but have never included text and this was something I needed to really consider carefully .The text is brief but reveals the context of the images. I have made a PDF as required for the assignment but also want to obtain a printed book , I really want to make a home made book too but am unsure of the best way to do that so might leave that until I have a bit more time. I have only made a very basic looking book dummy , I am not confident enough yet to try anything too complicated. I actually made about six versions of the PDF varying the order of the images to try and decide which worked best , even though I had already spread the images around the floor—–I am going to obtain a magnetic board like fellow students Catherine and Stephanie use. I was not expecting to enjoy working in colour as much as I did and feel it makes the work more contemporary and because of that perhaps heightens the sense of poignancy when comparing past to present .

Demonstration of creativity

I realise I am lucky owning a case of old family photographs that help me to conceive my conceptual ideas. I wanted to challenge myself further with this assignment and experimented with double exposures. Rather stubbornly I made the decision not to use the live- view mode in my camera to compose the multi exposures , whilst this would have enabled me to compose and see the resulting combined image I preferred the unreliable outcome. “Double exposure can be used in a planned way , but it is always difficult to predict what will happen -and that is part of the excitement” (Fox, A & Caruana , N , 2012 , p.g 87) . I feel my double exposures reflect the inconstancy of memory and I did consider using a whole series of double exposures for the entire assignment but decided against this but have included two of my personal favourites . My only concern is that I hope my mix of diptych and double exposures does not look too disjointed.

Context

As usual I am running way behind schedule but feel I have achieved a reasonable amount since the last assignment and my blog now contains a slowly growing source of resource material.

I have managed to go to two Martin Parr exhibitions which I thoroughly enjoyed. Seeing physical prints rather than looking at images on screen or in a book is a far better way of appreciating the work.

I need to attend more exhibitions than I do , I have a week of work next week and plan to attend at least one exhibition locally. I would love to go to London more frequently as there is a far wider choice of exhibitions but it is not practicable most of the time for me to get there.

I do find the internet a wonderful resource for finding interesting photographs and found three , Ali Mombasser , Nina Roeder and Sarah Dixon , who use different conceptual approaches in their own exploration of time , memory and loss.

I really enjoyed researching the work of Lorie Novak and David Favrod as recommended by Keith my tutor.

I used a black backdrop for this and my previous assignment and I looked at the work of two photographers who also one to great effect , Craig Becker and Rebecca Moseman. I have made a note of a couple of other photographers who have also used black backdrops in their respective documentary projects and will write about them too when I have completed my research.

Books read or reading:

Hurn ,D & Jay ,B “On Being a Photographer” Kindle edition

Jay , B & Jenson , B (ed) LensWork # 83 (The Bill Jay’s Best of EndNotes Issue ) . LensWork Pubishing Kindle edition

Burbridge , B & Davies , C (eds.) Issue 20 Family Politics , Photoworks Annual . Brighton England

Fox, A and Caruana, N. (2012) Behind the Image: Research in Photography. Lausanne: AVA Publishing SA

Sontag ,S.(1979) “On Photography” . Penguin Books , London ,England.

+ I have had another book delivered that I have not had chance to look at yet

Langford, M. (2008) ” Suspended Conversations . The Afterlife of Memory in Photographic Albums”. McGill-Queen’s University Press, Canada.

References

Fox, A and Caruana, N. (2012) Behind the Image: Research in Photography. Lausanne: AVA Publishing SA

2 thoughts on “Assignment 3 : Reflection

Leave a Reply

