Assignment 4 : More thoughts on the critical review

I spent most of yesterday evening pondering on my initial thoughts about the critical review and I have emailed my tutor again today with another proposal. I feel I need to narrow my initial idea down as this will make it easier to write more succinctly.

The critical review is intended to demonstrate your awareness and understanding of how your own and other photographers’ work and ideas relate to the wider cultural picture.

Postmemory and the use of family photographs in documentary practice interests me greatly hence it seems more logical I should perhaps base my critical review on something along these lines.

Possible titles:

1.
The role and relevance of family albums & domestic photography archives in documentary practice

2.
Alternative realities : postmemory and family photographs in documentary practice

I shall await my tutor’s thought’s and reply.

Leave a Reply

