Assignment 4: Tutor Feedback

Before receiving my feedback I was in a bit of a state as I knew I was running behind with my studies , I am sure most of us mature students feel overwhelmed at times and wonder sometimes why we are even doing it. But reading the feedback gave me such a boost making all the hard work worthwhile. I am really happy with Keith’s comments and he has made some interesting suggestions.

Keith remarked my critical review was well written and composed “both your reading and understanding of what you have read are strong…using the appropriate amount of quotes and references. Great work!
I am rather relived as I needed to keep re-structuring the essay until I had the 2000 word requirement and hopefully enough , but not too many , quotes.

Learning Log
I can’t fault this-you literally look at everything suggested , review / evaluate it and post it! Excellent !
Again this was a relief as I personally feel I could do so much more if time allowed but I do try to follow up any of Keith’s reading or research suggestions. I can’t thank him enough for these as they have enabled me to discover artists previously unknown to me and encouraged my growing interest in post-memory and the afterlife of old images.

I have put screen shots of sections of the essay with the annotations and suggestions I need to take note of at the bottom of this post. I am unsure if I need to re-write and include any of the extra research suggestions ( such as Tagg Chapter One) so have emailed Keith to query this but will amend any other as suggested. I was mortified to find out I had misspelt installation nearly throughout the entire essay putting instillation instead except for once ! This was despite being proof read by myself and my eldest daughter (who is a teacher !!!) , no gold star for spelling for either of us.

Suggested reading / research

John Tagg – The Burden of Representation – Chapter 1 – The democracy of the image.

David Bate – The Key Concepts – Chapter 8 – Seeing Portraits

Gordon Hughes – Douglas Heubler : Game Face

Geoffrey Batchen – Photography’s Objects

Andre Bazin – The Ontology of the Photographic Image

Joan Fontcuberta – Stranger Than Fiction

Joachim Schmid – Very Miscellaneous

Tacita Dean – Floh

Erik Kessels – Anything !

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 10.53.48

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 10.58.42

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 10.58.25

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 11.00.45

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 11.00.24

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 11.02.08

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 11.02.53

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 11.03.23

Screen Shot 2016-03-09 at 11.03.05

 

8 thoughts on “Assignment 4: Tutor Feedback

Leave a Reply

