Working towards assignment 5

I still need to keep taking more photographs but have been experimenting again with double exposures and also processing in colour again . Initially I wanted to work in colour , changed my mind feeling that b&w were the better choice , but now find myself preferring the colour, they are perhaps more contemporary. I have printed a couple and am pleased that the tones are not too bright or highly saturated , aesthetically this would not work .

1G8A5128

I re-processed the triple exposure below

1G8A5435

I have emailed Keith about the use of historical images for the assignment as stand-alone photographs . He suggests these be used in addition the 15 needed . Not too sure which I will use or how many yet , I shall be scanning some more but below are the scans of a couple of my original photos , a newspaper clipping and a letter sent by my dad whilst in India . I intend to use some individually and a couple will be used to create diptych’s. I will write more about the context of the images when I do my final write up.

Dad & tiger 002

India001

Newspaper clipping001

Dad's letter002

Dad's letter001

I will be printing the photographs , as always , but want to do another book. This needs to be presented differently to the prints . This is something I needed to amend for the PDF element of assignment 3 by placing all the historic images and scans used in a diptych on their own page . I am also wondering whether to print any of the historical stand-alone photographs I include along with the larger prints I will do, perhaps smaller 4×6. The originals will go back to the green case where they have ‘lived’ for quite some time.

A diptych of dad’s Chindits badge with one of the scanned  photographs above– taken presumably in a studio ! Dad is the young man sat down in front of the tiger on the bottom right.

Dad :Tiger : Chindits badge

1G8A5537

1G8A5539

I re-photographed the letter in the diptych below but will probably use the scanned version if this makes my final edit.

Letter : India x 1

Another diptych / a  double exposure and scanned newspaper.

Dad evacuation diptych

1G8A5543

A single exposure using another photograph with the clipping and postcard.

1G8A5523

Some of the double exposures work some don’t but I want to include a few in this assignment . I like their ambiguity , how they allude to hazy half-forgotten memories as the opaque layers of history are slightly revealed. A few more of my experiments below–some more successful than others.

1G8A5535

1G8A5514

1G8A5511

 

1G8A5500

1G8A5498

1G8A5495

1G8A5493

1G8A5491

1G8A5488

I like the one below , the connotation , which suggests how he has been silenced , by time and death.

1G8A5482

A diptych and a single exposure below

Dad : tribute

1G8A5484

 

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Working towards assignment 5

  1. Catherine

    There’s definitely a sense of you feeling a stronger direction now. Those medals stand out so well from their suitcase. I think I prefer to see the double exposures with a deeper opacity as in the top one with the balustrade. The final three images are, again, strong in evoking memory and loss.

    Like

    Reply
    1. Judy Bach Post author

      Thanks Catherine, I am getting there — slowly 😊 !
      Trouble is I wish I had more time as I keep getting new ideas but need to just get on with it and complete . I spend far too much time procrastinating!

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

